Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Sage Brown Butter

Standard

Listen, I don’t like sweet potatoes, I’ll be honest. This winter, we have literally gotten 3-4 of them every week in our CSA. I realize this is intense #firstworldproblems but next winter, I’m going to request that we don’t get any. But, what’s done is done. So I’ve been trying to get creative because wasting food is not cool. Hence, this recipe for gnocchi was born. Originally, I intended to just make the brown butter sage sauce, but we also received amazing shiitake mushrooms in our share this week. Divine serendipity! The mushrooms MAKE this dish. You don’t need many, so don’t hesitate at the pricey mushrooms.

Image

I used white flour in this (gasp) but I think you could substitute up to half whole wheat pastry flour.

You’ll need:

3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and boiled/steamed soft

2 cups unbleached white flour (plus more depending on moisture of the potatoes)

1 egg

salt and pepper to taste

SAUCE

1/2 cup butter

2 cups shiitake mushrooms

2 tsp ground sage, or handful torn fresh

Instructions:

Mash the sweet potato well. Ensure you let it cool. In a large bowl, add the flour and egg and seasoning, and knead until a dough forms. It should be sticky but workable. I ended up using an extra cup of flour to get to the correct texture- my potatoes were rather large.

Flour surface, Roll dough into 1 inch wide ropes and refrigerate for 20 minutes. Start a large pot of salted water to boil.

When ready, cut dough into 1/2 inch pieces and press with a fork. Drop into boiling water- they are done when they are “jumping out of the pot” as Mario Batali says (I read this, I thought it was a good description).

In a skillet, brown the butter and cook the mushrooms and sage at the same time. Salt and pepper to taste. Toss pasta and sauce together. To serve, grate a small amount of Parmesan on top. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

