Restaurant Review- Radius

Standard

We’re new parents. Nice dinners out have been few and far between for the past year. I really didn’t notice, or miss them for the first 8-or-so months…we were too busy!!
Now that I’m back at work, and we’ve got a totally awesome babysitter, we decided to start date night once a month. Having moved around quite a bit over the past 10 years, something we’ve loved to do is sample the local restaurant culture. Living in Hamilton for 6 months, we’re just getting started!

So, my last day of work before Christmas vacation we decided to treat ourselves- a dinner out was our gift to each other this year. We decided to try Radius (151 James St. S, Hamilton). Located at James South and Augusta in a newly restored (circa 1874) building, items made, where possible, with locally grown foods and all prepared on site by Chef Walter. The dining room was recently opened adding to the existing cafe serving freshly brewed coffee and tea and treats.

31625_10100270643720515_604222232_n

Since I didn’t think to blog about this at the time, I didn’t take many photos…oops.
We started with wine and beer, and the selections were explained wonderfully by our friendly server. The atmosphere in the restaurant is really great- a mix of historical and modern. We chose crab cakes as our appetizer. I thought they were good, but I prefer my cakes a little more bready.
Moving on to main courses, I chose the Fettucine Carbonara, and Hubby chose the steak with wasabi mashed potatoes. Both entrees were AMAZING. The pasta was cooked perfectly ( I am a carb connaisseur) and his steak was exactly to his liking (he’s a meat connaisseur). I also tried some of his mashed and really enjoyed it.

540192_10100270642233495_579328873_n

We were sitting next to a group of 4 (two couples) and chatted with them. This is a total tangent, but another reason why I love Hamilton- people are for-real friendly. I can’t say that about the other places we’ve recently lived.

We decided to order dessert after watching a few come out of the kitchen. We chose a belgian chocolate cake to share. It was gone in 3 seconds flat. This after finishing a generous portion of pasta- hey we were celebrating!

All in all, we had a great evening. Considering the dining area at Radius has been open a couple months, I think they are doing good things. We definitely have plans to return. I love the local concept of this restaurant and I’m excited to see where the menu goes.

Leave a Reply

