Real Food Habitant Split Pea Soup

Standard

Confession: I love canned soup. I know it’s disgusting and not very classy, but it’s tasty. Especially with a ton of soda crackers in it. I also know that most canned processed soups are full of a ton of ingredients I can’t pronounce, let alone identify. So processed, canned soups, you gotta go.
Luckily, it was easy for me to replicate one of my favourites- Habitant Split Pea. My American friends probably don’t know what this is, but Canadians do: its the one in the big yellow can!
Easy Peasy! (pun intended)

Ingredients:
-1/2 bag dried green split peas
– 1400ml stock (homemade or store bought) I used half chicken half veg
-3 finely diced large carrots
-6 1 inch slices turkey kielbasa, finely diced
-finely diced small onion

Dump it in the slow cooker. Set to low and come back in 6-8 hours.
When it’s done, it will require a good stir and won’t be as thick as you remember split pea. Never fear. In the fridge over night it will thicken up A LOT.
Serve with whole wheat soda crackers. I couldn’t wait to put mine in, thats why this picture looks like sludge. Trust me, it tastes better than it looks.

split pea>

2 thoughts on “Real Food Habitant Split Pea Soup

Leave a Reply

