Baby Essentials

Standard

Before I had Anneliese I was obsessed with reading other people’s posts about their baby essentials- what they used and what they didn’t- and now that she is almost 3 months old I thought I would write one of my own. I know a lot of people who are expecting or, expecting to be expecting and so I hope this post helps you wade through the MOUNTAIN of baby stuff that is available out there. Keep in mind also though, that what worked for us, may not fit how you want to do things, or your baby. Since, as I learned, your baby will come out as he or she is meant to be, and no matter how much you may want to fit them into your life, you will actually have to fit your life around their likes and dislikes. It takes time to figure out what works for your baby, but once you do, things get a lot easier. So without further ado:

NURSING PILLOWS:

I actually have two, the one above was the first one I got as a gift, and after a week of using it I realized it wasn’t working for me, because it’s fairly flat, and my baby was really small. I found myself bent over her, which wasn’t great for my back. So I got another one, which I will detail below. Before you write off this one (Jolly Jumper brand from Babies R Us) I am back to using it exclusively now that Anneliese is bigger- the surface area is wider and so she doesn’t roll off. I highly recommend investing in a couple different pillows to fit the stage you’re at in nursing. Trust me, you will spend 75% of your day using this pillow, its worth the money.

This pink pillow is a Boppy which I special ordered through Babies R Us. Its very puffy and so it holds the baby up higher. Its also stiffer so it holds around your body without sliding. I found this was ideal for the first month. It also works great to prop the baby on while you’re sitting on the couch, they can face you and lean against it, saving your arms.

SWADDLING BLANKET:

Bamboo Swaddle Blankets by Aden and Anais

We learned right away that Anneliese needed to be swaddled tight to sleep well. She was, and still is, a flailer (is that a word?) Anyway, she likes to have her hands swaddled up near her face, so all the velcro swaddlers we had did not work. If we tried to swaddled her arms by her sides she would freak out like the world was ending. I haven’t had these blankets that long, but I wish I had them from the beginning. They are REALLY big, which makes it easy to lock her in tight, and they’re bamboo so they breathe well.  Baby sleep has dominated the last almost 3 months of my life and I would literally pay any price to have my child sleep well- these blankets are worth it.

BASSINETTE

Speaking of sleep, we used the above Fisher Price Rock n Play Sleeper for the first 6 weeks of Anneliese’s life. I kept it right next to my side of the bed and I could just reach my arm out and rock it without having to get up- this is key. She liked being nestled right into the bed because she could feel the sides around her and I think it made her feel secure. I wasn’t prepared to spend a ton on a bassinette because I knew she’d only be in it for a short time. It cost about $50 at Target.  My favourite thing about it is that it folds flat, making it great to travel with or move downstairs during the daytime. I could pull it over into the bathroom while I showered without having to pick her up and disturb her, which was also great.

DIAPERS:

We knew we wanted to cloth diaper for a couple reasons: the crap in disposable diapers scares me and I don’t want it anywhere near my child’s bum, and also I am cheap. I researched cloth quite a bit and realized pretty quickly that All in One diapers are expensive- they can be $25 EACH, and you need at least 20 to make it work. So I had resigned myself to using pre-folds and covers and washing them myself. But then my sister in law told me about Kawaii diapers, pictured above. They are AIO and come with two microfibre inserts for each diaper. They are adjustable and can fit your baby from birth to toilet training. Best of all, I got 24 for 130$, FREE shipping. Amazing. They are so easy to use and they do not leak. Not one blowout yet (knock on wood).  You can get these diapers on Ebay either from the maker or many others sell them. There’s several different models.

This is the detergent I use on my cloth diapers. I keep my diapers in a wet bag until its time to wash (every other day) then I dump the whole thing, bag included, in the washer and do a hot rinse. I then use 3 tablespoons of detergent and run a hot wash, followed by another hot rinse. Then dry in the dryer and we’re ready to go again. The detergent may seem expensive at $21/bag, but a bag lasts forever. Its important to use the right detergent on cloth diapers, because most conventional detergent will over time make it less absorbent and you don’t want that.

STROLLER:

I’ve been asked alot about my stroller, which is a BOB Revolution CE. I knew I wanted a jogging stroller for obvious reasons, but knew I wouldnt be able to actually jog with it until the baby was older. I went with this model because it had the option of an adapter to snap on the car seat, which we have been using from the start with ease. It is also fairly compact for a jogger and fits in the trunk of my Mazda 3, which was pretty important. The shock absorption is amazing, and its wonderful to push through any type of weather. The price was a bit of a slap in the face, but since we only bought one stroller, we made it a good one. It has a really big weather shade that pulls down really far over baby, which I like.

THINGS I DIDN’T NEED OR USE:

-fancy infant clothing. Sure it’s cute as anything, but when you haven’t slept more than an hour in 2 days the last thing you want to be doing is fiddling around with a million snaps and buttons. Babies need alot of diaper changes in the beginning and we found out really fast the only thing we used was ZIPPERED sleepers. Key word zipper. Do not buy buttons or snaps. Trust me on this. Also they will outgrow those infant clothes within weeks so don’t waste your $$.

– Velcro Swaddlers. Like I mentioned before our baby did not like them. This is not to say that they don’t work wonders, I’m sure they do. But until you know what’s going to work for your child, save your money. Once you bring baby home, send Daddy out to the store to get whatever you think will work best.

That’s pretty much it for my not used list- we didn’t buy too much since we didn’t know the sex of our baby and we were also lucky enough to be spoiled rotten by friends and family who knew what they were doing when they bought us gifts. I suggest only buying the essentials before baby comes- a place for him/her to sleep, diapers, bathtub, and a few sleepers. Then you can get what you need as you need it and won’t end up with unused items.

So now its your turn: What baby item did you find irreplaceable???

4 thoughts on “Baby Essentials

  1. Christa R

    Great list Emily. I’m sending all my pregnant friends to the list…
    Here are a few things I’d add to the list of must-have’s:
    1. Babybjörn Baby Carrier Original
    2. A car seat that can fit on the stroller you buy (or at least a car seat you can buy a cheap base or adapter for)
    3. The New Contented Little Baby Book by Gina Ford
    4. Sophie La Giraffe Teether
    5. Lamaze developmental baby toys

Leave a Reply

