Spaghetti Squash

Standard

I’ve always liked spaghetti squash. It doesn’t have the mushy texture that turns me off of other squashes, and although its not going to fool you into thinking its pasta, its a good alternative.

According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) nutrient database, 1 cup of cooked spaghetti squash provides 42 calories, 0.4 gram of fat, 1 g of protein, 10 g of carbohydrate (4 g as sugar) and 2.2 g of fiber.
Pretty great, considering one cup of pasta can set you back about 220 calories!
I like to prepare mine with zucchini and pasta sauce and (previously) cheese on top. Last night I used some Daiya as a cheese substitute. I had never bought Daiya before because faux- anything turns me off and frankly makes me want to gag a little. But desperate times call for desperate measures. I had suspected for awhile that Anneliese was intolerant to the dairy in my diet, and had been reducing it- but yesterday the lactation consultant confirmed my suspicions. Its amazing what even one day has done- she’s MUCH happier today and I’m hoping things will only improve.
Anyways, back to the squash.
First, poke the squash all over and put it on a cookie sheet in the oven. Bake for 1 hour (adjust based on the size of your squash) at 350.
Once its cooked and has cooled a little, cut it in half. Don’t burn yourself! Silicone oven mitts are great for this.
On the inside there is a little bit of seeds and mushy part you don’t want to eat. Scoop it out with a spoon.
Then, using a fork, scrape out the inside of the squash. It will naturally separate into ‘spaghetti’ like strands.
Reheat it with pasta sauce and whatever else you like with spaghetti- you could add meatballs and/or any vegetables you want. Eat as many bowls as you like!

Leave a Reply

