Life Lessons

Standard

Since becoming a mom, I’ve learned so much. Obviously I’ve learned a ton about taking care of a baby, but there are a lot of life lessons along the way.

I have always been a planner personality. I like to plan ahead and I’m obsessed with scheduling. When I made schedules while working in store I would spend hours of my own time perfecting them. I loved it. In my current job I still spend an inordinate amount of time on my Outlook calendar. It’s sick.

With an infant there is no schedule. Don’t even try. This is a lesson it’s taken me 6 weeks to fully absorb. When we brought her home, I expected her to eat, nap and repeat every three hours like clockwork. She actually did this for a couple days, which fooled me. But I’ve now come to realize you can’t schedule a baby.

This makes it really hard for me to follow my colour coded, date organized training plan. (which I highlight and put a sticker on each completed workout. Seriously) I’m not sure this is bad thing. Its good for me to go with the flow a little more. If I plan to go to the grocery store in the morning, its not the end of the world if I don’t make it there until the afternoon.

The unknowns of parenthood have been giving me a lot of anxiety over the past 6 weeks….when will she wake up? Will she ever stop crying and go back to sleep? Is she sick? Is she getting enough to eat?

I’m sure there is some larger lesson to be learned from all of this, but what I’ve learned so far is just to let go and not to worry about things I can’t control! Fitting in exercise when I can is good practice for when I go back to work- it’s going to be crazy.

People are right when they say having children makes you a better person.

Leave a Reply

